OS Applicable Updates and Hotfixes Spreadsheet – October 30th Edition

As I was working on troubleshooting an issue with one of our Windows Server 2012 R2 file server, I started to put together an Excel spreadsheet that would contain a list of updates/hotfix applicable to our particular case. I then expanded the exercise to other technologies and version of operating systems.

I now figure I could share that work with you but I think a few disclaimers are in order:

  • This is a not a recommendation of the patches to install per technology
  • This list is not exhaustive, the updates/hotfixes that were not pertinent to my particular environment were filtered out. I do try to capture as many as possible
  • The classification is done manually; inconsistencies or incorrect classification is possible/likely
  • I update the spreadsheet manually based on what Microsoft publishes on the KB RSS feeds

That being said, here what’s included

  • Windows Server 2012 R2
    • Some of the patches are applicable to Windows 8.1 but I was not looking specifically for that
  • Windows Server 2012
    • Some of the patches are applicable to Windows 8 but I was not looking specifically for that
  • Windows Server 2008 R2
    • Some of the patches are applicable to Windows 7 but I was not looking specifically for that

At this point in time here are the main buckets I try to classify the patches under:

  • All/Other
  • Active Directory
  • Backup
  • Deduplication
  • DHCP
  • DNS
  • File Server
  • Failover Clustering
  • General Storage
  • Hyper-V
  • IIS
  • iSCSI Target
  • Print Server
  • Networking
  • Remote Desktop Services
  • Storage Spaces

I’d like to improve this in the future, so feedback is welcomed. I might be looking at automating the creation of this and improve the navigation in the spreadsheet with slicers. In the meantime, the look is basic but hopefully functional enough.

If you notice anything that should be added/removed/modified in there, feel free to let me know.

You can find the file here: Applicable Patches

Leave a Reply

